[ back to previous page ]  [ print this flyer ]  [ Download Tournament Entry Form ]  [ Download Team Tournament Roster Form

George E. O'Rourke Memorial Tournament - ROUND 5 OF 5
Honoring Wachusett Chess Club member George Edmund O'Rourke (July 29, 1929 - February 26, 2007)

Tournament Details Revised: 2/28/2024 9:42:09 PM
General Information
Event Organizer: The Wachusett Chess Club  Visit Organizer Website
Event Location: Fitchburg State University, McKay Complex, Rooms 142 and 143, 67 Rindge Road, Fitchburg, MA 01420   [ Directions ]
Event Date: Wednesday, March 06, 2024
Time Control: G/90 5-second delay
Rounds Time: Round 5 (final) at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, March 6
Byes: Retroactive two half-point byes for rounds 1-4
Prize Info: Premier (1600 & above) Section: 1st-3rd. Top U1800, Top U1700, U1600 Section: 1st-3rd. Top U1400, Top U1200
Inquiry: mjcommisso@yahoo.com    603-533-9992 - phone number of chief TD Mike Commisso - call or text BEFORE 6:45 p.m.
Event Webpage: www.wachusettchess.org
Registration Information
Entry Fee: Free entry to paid-up Wachusett Chess Club members ($20 annual dues)
Registration - Onsite: 6:00 to 6:45 p.m.
Membership Requirement: USCF + Wachusett Chess Club annual dues ($20) - individual & family
Sections Information
Tournament Sections: Premier (1600 & above) Section: 26 players Under 1600 Section: 27 players
Tournament Rules and Other Information
  • 4.0 - Shawn Xu / 3.0 - Ray Paulson, Bruce Felton, Anand Nair / 2.5 - George Mirijanian, Tom Newman, Frank Cao, Mike Manisy, Gary Brassard
  • 2.0 - Roger Cappallo, Paul Giovino, Todd Tsakiris, Matt Moore, Michael David, Anand Wadikar
  • 1.5 - Dave Couture, Jim Donahue, Mike Commisso, Don Ostrowski, Mariano Rivera
  • 1.0 - Mike Urbonas, Raymond Crowe, Matt Phelps, Larry Spencer / 0.5 - Ken Gurge, Ray Xue
  • 4.0 - Mike Bergeron / 3.0 - Leo Marzoratti, Bob Anderson, Steve Koroskenyi / 2.5 - George Jordy, Walter Paton, Brian Biglow, Hugh McLaughlin
  • 2.0 - Jay Goguen, Anish Saravanan, Mark Wheeler, Larry O'Rourke, Laura Xu, Huaigu Cao, Nicholas Coronel, Michael Coronel
  • 1.5 - Walter Whitmore, Emily Gawboy, Bryan Macdonald / 1.0 - Tom Fratturelli, Duy Tuong Nguyen, James Essary, Thien Nguyen
  • 0.5 - Elijah Hill,/ 0.0 - Lee Melanson, Al Bump, Winston Newman

  • MACA provides tournament listing for all as a service to the chess community. For question, comments, or dispute regarding events that are not organized by MACA, please contact the tournament organizer directly.
  • Remember that each player is responsible for bringing and setting up their clock. Please refer to the Metrowest Chess Club Digital Clock Guide for instructions on how to set digital clocks.
  • MACA does not recommend but allows US Chess approved electronic scorekeeping devices. Please note that some national tournaments held by US Chess ban electronic scorekeeping, so be sure to know how to keep score without aid of electronics.
  • If online registration is enabled on this event, you can Join/Renew your USCF and MACA membership at the online registration page. If online registration is not available, you can join MACA (The Massachusetts Chess Association) at our Online Membership Form and USCF (United States Chess Federation) at USCF Membership Page.