Skip Navigation Links
MACA Chess Horizons Magazine Article
 85th Western MA & CT Valley
 Ed Kostreba
  April 2010

The Western Mass. and Connecticut Valley Championship is the longest running trophy only tournament in the United States. It is sponsored each year by the Western Massachusetts Chess Association (W.M.C.A.). It is a 5 round tournament with only one section, and r e cognizes top finishers for each class of player. The championship drew 29 players from Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Connecticut. It was held at our best site yet: the Kittredge Center at Holyoke Community College (H.C.C.), made possible by our contact at the college, Jay Ducharme. Jay is a Professor at the college and teaches courses for the Electronic Media Department. He is also the H.C.C. Chess Club adviser, and comes from a chess playing family.

The new Champion is Anthony Norris with the highest score of 4.5.

The Top Class A player is Robert Campbell with a score of 4. He held the title in 1983 and 2001.

The Top Class B player is Richard Zyra with a score of 3.5. He and his brother Michael are two of the best supporters of local chess tournaments. They participate in almost all W.M.C.A. sponsored events.

The Top Class C player is Richard Gold with a score of 3.5. Richard is a retired UMass Professor of Psychology.

The Top Class D player is Brian Santiago. Brian is a high school student at Central High in Springfield.

The Top Class E player and youngest player in the tournament is Jonathan Aiyathurai.

The Top Class F player is Gaetano Bompastore. Gaetano had a rough start in his first tournament last October, but has gained over 200 points since then. He is a fierce competitor, narrowly losing games against tough opponents at this tournament. He will be back and playing even better after reading his new book, Basic Chess Endings, by Reuben Fine.

The Top Un-Rated player is Daniel Kibbe. This was Daniel's first U.S.C.F. rated tournament. He runs the Renaissance Chess Club at the Renaissance Barber Shop in Palmer.

The tournament was directed by Ed Kostreba, assisted by Vince Bradley.